Stand Up ABC (Bar & Bat Mitzvah Youth)

Stand Up ABC Sydney

< back

An innovative education experience for Bar and Bat mitzvah aged kids. 

 

 REGISTER YOUR CHILD

 

PROGRAM AIMS:

  • Stand Up And Be Counted (ABC) empowers young Jewish Australians to become changemakers in the community by upholding Jewish values of Tikkun Olam, Tzedakah and Chessed
  • Stand Up ABC engages participants to explore and address 21st century challenges: social cohesion, poverty alleviation, equitable distribution of wealth and human rights.

Read about Joel McCarroll, our dynamic Stand Up ABC Coordinator (Sydney) here.

PROGRAM TOPICS:

Program 1: Standing Up What are we standing up for?
After getting to know their fellow participants with games and group challenges, Stand Up-ers will explore the idea of Modern Plagues; injustices that afflict the modern world like homelessness, extreme poverty, racism and climate change. Stand Up-ers will be encouraged to think about which issue they feel particularly passionate. Inspired by Jewish concepts of Tzedek (justice) and Chessed (kindness), Stand Up-ers will consider what a bar/bat mitzvah really means.
Program 2: Mini-governments Why do the modern plagues exist in the world today?
Stand Up-ers will be faced with the task of being in charge of their own country. With a limited budget, they will have to decide what their money should go towards, and what must be sacrificed. Stand Up- ers will see how wealth is distributed around the world, and consider why it is spread in that way. Finally, they take action, by sharing what they learn through the creation of a video campaign.
Program 3: Poverty Cycle What does it mean to live on less than $2 a day?
Through a fun shopping excursion, Stand Up-ers will practically consider the challenges of extreme poverty. Stand Up-ers will then be given the chance to discuss possible solutions to one of the world’s greatest problems. Using the concept of Tzedakah, Stand Up-ers will learn that the Jewish approach to helping others is as relevant as ever.
Program 4: Abraham’s tent Who am I responsible to?
Stand Up’ers will explore the concept of responsibility by looking at the attitudes of our ancestors Noah and Abraham. They will debate amongst themselves who they need to Stand Up for and learn why our Jewish history has taught us to welcome the stranger. Finally Stand Up-ers will prepare for program 5, by sharing some of their own family stories of survival and relocation, and gaining an understanding of the basic refugee crisis that exists in the world today.
Program 5: ‘Long walk from home’ – guest speaker What is home to us?
For this program, Stand Up-ers will be joined by Stand Up’s Refugee Ambassador, Yarrie Bangura, who will share her story of leaving her home in Sierra Leone, and eventually finding a new home in Australia. Stand Up-ers will also explore some of the major refugee crises that have happened around the world.
Program 6: Indigenous Experience – excursion How can we use knowledge to stand up against inequality?
Stand Up-ers will join an Indigenous educator to learn about the rich history of Aboriginal communities in Sydney. We will go on a walking tour to learn about native plants, and their uses. Stand Up-ers will understand why we as a Jewish community are responsible to play an active role in reconciliation, and leave with ideas and tools to keep Standing Up for indigenous rights, recognition and repair.
Program 7: Think big, start small How can I put my values into action?
In this session Stand Up-ers will reflect on what they have learnt in previous weeks, and formulate an action project – an initiative to help a cause they care about. Stand Up-ers will see that no one is too young to make a difference, and will think about how they can use their skills and interests to change the world!
Program 8: Finale How can I share my experience with my family?
Parents and families are invited to this final session where Stand Up-ers will run mini-workshops from the program for their families. Stand Up-ers will also share their ideas for action and obtain family input. It is a perfect opportunity for participants to share their reflections from the Stand Up program as they graduate, and for families to see what their children have been learning through the weeks.

 

Back

PROGRAM DATES 2019:

January Holiday Program – Stand Up HQ Paddington (click here for dates)
Program 1-3: Tuesday 22nd January (full day)
Program 4-6: Wednesday 23rd January (full day)
Program 7-8: Thursday 24th January (full day)
Term 1 – Stand Up HQ Paddington (click here for dates)
Program 1: Sunday 10th February (afternoon)
Program 2: Sunday 17th February (afternoon)
Program 3: Sunday 24th February (afternoon)
Program 4: Sunday 3rd March (afternoon)
Program 5: Sunday 10th March (afternoon)
Program 6: Sunday 17th March (afternoon)
Program 7: Sunday 24th March (afternoon)
Program 8: Sunday 31st March (TBA)
April Holiday Program – Stand Up HQ Paddington (click here for dates)
Program 1-3: Monday 15th April (full day)
Program 4-6: Tuesday 16th April (full day)
Program 7-8: Wednesday 17th April (full day)
Term 2 – Stand Up HQ Paddington (click here for dates)
Program 1: Sunday 5th May (morning)
Program 2: Sunday 12th May (morning)
Program 3: Sunday 19th May (morning)
Program 4: Sunday 26th May (morning)
Program 5: Sunday 2nd June (morning)
Program 6: Sunday 16th June (morning)
Program 7: Sunday 23rd June (morning)
Program 8: Sunday 30th June (TBA)
July Holiday Program – Stand Up HQ Paddington (click here for dates)
Program 1-3: Monday 15th July (full day)
Program 4-6: Tuesday 16th July (full day)
Program 7-8: Wednesday 17th July (full day)
Term 3 – Stand Up HQ Paddington (click here for dates)
Program 1: Sunday 28th July (afternoon)
Program 2: Sunday 4th August (afternoon)
Program 3: Sunday 11th August (afternoon)
Program 4: Sunday 18th August (afternoon)
Program 5: Sunday 25th August (afternoon)
Program 6: Sunday 1st September (afternoon)
Program 7: Sunday 8th September (afternoon)
Program 8: Sunday 15th September (TBA)
Term 4 – Stand Up HQ Paddington (click here for dates)
Program 1: Sunday 20th October (afternoon)
Program 2: Sunday 27th October (afternoon)
Program 3: Sunday 3rd November (afternoon)
Program 4: Sunday 11th November (afternoon)
Program 5: Sunday 10th November (afternoon)
Program 6: Sunday 17th November (afternoon)
Program 7: Sunday 1st December (afternoon)
Program 8: Sunday 8th December (TBA)

  • Stand Up ABC Cost: $385.
  • If necessary, subsidies are available towards your fee.
  • Class sizes: we only take 12 students per group

For more information, please contact our education team at joel@standup.org.au or 03 9500 2206

More
Be an Upstander. Show your supportPlease Donate
+ +